Christian Education

District Church Convention Held Right here Tuesday | New

This story initially appeared within the April 10, 1931 situation of The Farmington Press. – Editor

The Farmington District Convention, held within the Southern Methodist Church on Tuesday, April 7, drew many delegates and guests from all 25 prices within the district. A stable program had been ready by the President, Reverend CP Thogmorton, which was adopted by the Convention as its agenda.

The native District preachers had been referred to as, one after the other their character handed and their license renewed. LM Myers and Ottis L. Roush had been licensed to evangelise. Mr. DO Groce de Desloge was elected District Lay Chief and Mr. AI Taylor of Bonne Terre and Mr. Amos Allen of Flat River had been elected Affiliate Lay Chiefs. The rev. W. Stewart of Bonne Terre was additionally elected District Director of the Golden Cross, and the Rev. JT Ricketts of Farmington has been elected District Director of the Retirees Endowment Fund.

Elected delegates to the St. Louis annual convention had been: JC Hunter, Bismarck; Walker Ames, DeSoto; PA Hendrix, Bonne Terre; DO Groce, Desloge; PE Genoway, Fredericktown; The Reverend HG Stewart, Esther; Mrs. WF Talley, Fredericktown; Ms. OH Duggins, Festus; RC Tucker, Farmington.

Rev. HO Isbell, Pastor Wagner Place Church, St. Louis, delivered a loud sermon at 11 am. An attractive non secular ambiance was ready for this sermon by the Sacrament for the Lord’s Supper administered by Reverend JC Montgomery, former resident of the Cape Girardeau district, assisted by different ministers in attendance.

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.