Christian Education

Lexie’s Legacy: The LaSalle Instructional Membership Pays Homage to the Metropolis’s College students | Native Information

The scholarship membership that Lexie Sanders based to assist Niagara Falls college students will proceed its mission with out her this yr.

Sanders, who has all the time mentioned “it takes a village to lift a toddler,” was 91 when she died on March 6.

His presence can be missed at this yr’s awards banquet, which is scheduled for June 11 at Niagara Falls Excessive College.

“We’re very decided to proceed,” mentioned Sanders daughter Gloria Dolson Robertson, who’s among the many family and friends who’ve beforehand helped Sanders annually with the scholarship and awards banquet, and who will proceed. the trouble.

Purposes are at the moment being invited from college students in Niagara Falls who want to obtain a scholarship.

The membership has grown since its inception in 1967, when college students had been celebrated at a home-cooked banquet and $ 5 was given to every graduate. Final yr, essentially the most prestigious award was the $ 1,500 Pastor Glenn Raybon Humanitarian Scholarship awarded to Navaeh Herd.

Final yr’s occasion went with out fanfare, for the primary time in 51 years, with no scholarship banquet.

Final yr’s scholarship winners had been: Cameron McWilson, Rev. JM Bradley for $ 1,000; Nictoria Torrence, recipient of the Eric L. Jones “I Can” $ 1,000 scholarship, an award sponsored by Jone’s sister, Stephaine S. Huston, 1999 recipient.

Ron Hamilton, 1989 scholar, sponsored three scholarships, together with the primary $ 800 Edward “Pete” Ivey Memorial, which was awarded to Kayla Petri.

The $ 700 Richard Tucker Jr. Memorial Scholarship awarded to the Toddjanae ‘Seals; and the $ 500 Mercedes L. Crymes Memorial Prize in Political Science which was introduced to Jasiah Jackson. The $ 500 Martin Luther King Jr. Award went to Mckenzie Gilmore; and the $ 500 Shalise Monet Carter Humanitarian Award went to Felicity Tiberi.

The Niagara Falls Schooling Basis sponsored three $ 500 scholarships which had been awarded to Yazbeck Sarkees, Johannah Petrishin and Emaleigh Cooper. The $ 500 Theodore Williamson Scholarship was awarded to Aliyah Carter; The $ 500 Nathan A. Dolson Jr. Management Award went to Lauren Granieri; and the Barbara J. Bivens Memorial Scholarship of $ 500 was introduced to Kamariah Miller and sponsored by the Rhonda Bivens-Talley household.

The $ 500 Erica M. Rivers Memorial Athletic Scholarship, sponsored by the Rivers household, was awarded to Zakarria Perkins. The $ 500 Evelyn Jones Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Christopher Schulte; and the Kelab Sanders Jr. Brotherhood scholarship of $ 300 went to Melanie Rott.

The Robert A. Anderson Jr. Memorial Award of $ 300 was introduced to Lexus Hale; The $ 300 Albert C. Sanders Athletic Scholarship went to Molly Chiarella; and The Lillie P. Stephens Girls’s Observe and Subject Prize of $ 250 went to Sara Moreno.

The $ 200 Shalise Monet Carter Memorial Award went to Alexa Laskowski; and the $ 200 Vassalage of Hope Church Pastor’s Cauley Award went to Jillyann Weber.

A brand new scholarship is being awarded this yr, sponsored by Males Standing Sturdy Collectively, a brand new social justice group created to assist present sources to deprived college students and work for a safer group.

College students can apply for the scholarship by visiting the Niagara Falls Excessive College web site at www.nfschools.web/nfhs or by contacting the LaSalle Instructional Membership 579-2916.

Buffalo lawyer John Elmore would be the keynote speaker on the banquet at 6 p.m. on June 11. As well as, Max Christian Asklar, winner of the 2017 scholarship, would be the membership’s grasp of ceremonies.

For dinner tickets, name Joyce A. Sanders at 282-3637 or Loretta Hamilton at 282-5435, or the Niagara Falls Board of Schooling at 286-4205. The deadline for functions is April 26.

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.