Christian Education

The US Department of Education names the schools Green Ribbon; Portsmouth and Barrington among the winners


The United States Department of Education today released the names of the 2021 United States Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools, District Sustainability Fellows, and Post-Secondary Sustainability Fellows.

In Rhode Island, Barrington Middle School was recognized in the school category while Portsmouth School Department was recognized in the district category.

Three state education officials, Joseph DaSilva, Manuel Cordero, and Mario Carreno, of the Rhode Island Department of Education School Building Authority, are also recognized for their efforts to promote school sustainability.

Across the country, 27 schools, three early learning centers, five districts and five post-secondary institutions are honored for their innovative efforts to reduce environmental impact and utility costs, improve health and well-being and ensuring effective education in sustainability, according to the US Department. education.

“The pandemic has highlighted the vital importance of school buildings and grounds; health and wellbeing; and hands-on, authentic learning, ”US Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona said in a statement. “I applaud the selected schools, districts and post-secondary institutions who, through their sustainability practices, provide healthy, safe and efficient school environments and protect our planet. Unsurprisingly, many of our award winners support students in underserved communities, proving once again that green school practices, which encompass best practices in school functioning, health and environmental learning, are tools. essential for advancing equity.

The winners were nominated from a pool of nominees nominated by 20 states. Those selected include 24 public schools – among them, five charter schools and one magnetic school – as well as three non-public schools. More than half of the 2021 winners live in communities where more than 40% of students are entitled to a free and discounted lunch.

Below is the list of 2021 US Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools, District Sustainability Fellows, and Post-Secondary Sustainability Fellows:

  • AL – Tuscaloosa – Schools in the city of Tuscaloosa, Category: District.
  • CA – Hillsborough – The Nueva School, Category: School.
  • CA – Indio – Theodore Roosevelt Primary School, Category: School.
  • CA – Los Altos – Lycée Los Altos, Category: School.
  • CA – Perris – May Ranch Elementary School, Category: School.
  • CA – Westminster – Fryberger Elementary School, Category: School.
  • DC – Washington – C. Bilingual Public Charter School, Category: School.
  • DC – Washington – Francis Scott Key Elementary School, Category: School.
  • FL – Jacksonville – Christ the King Catholic School, Category: School.
  • IL – Winfield – Wheaton Christian Grammar School, Category: School.
  • IN – Indianapolis – Paramount Brookside, Category: School.
  • IN – Porter – Discovery Charter School, Category: School.
  • KY – Lexington – The Academies of Bryan Station High School, Category: School.
  • KY – Paducah – Western Kentucky Community and Technical College, Category: Post-secondary institution.
  • LA – Hammond – University of Southeast Louisiana, Category: Post-secondary institution.
  • MO – Louis – Flance Early Learning Center, Category: Early Learning Center.
  • NC – Cary – Wake County Public School System, Category: District.
  • NC – Wilmington – C. Virgo Preparatory Academy, Category: School.
  • NC – Wilmington – University of North Carolina Wilmington, Category: Post-secondary institution.
  • NC – Wrightsville Beach – Wrightsville Beach Elementary School, Category: School.
  • NE – Blair – Collège Gerald Otte-Blair, Category: School.
  • NE – Newman Grove – Newman Grove Public Schools, Category: District.
  • NJ – Atco – Winslow Township High School, Category: School.
  • NJ – Jackson – Switlik Elementary School, Category: School.
  • NY – Brooklyn – PS90 The Magnet School for Environmental Studies and Community Wellness, Category: School.
  • NY – Ithaca – New Roots Charter School, Category: School.
  • NY – Scarsdale – Scarsdale Middle School, Category: School.
  • OH – Cincinnati – James N. Gamble Montessori High School, Category: School.
  • PA – Bethlehem – Lehigh University, Category: Post-secondary institution.
  • PA – Gibsonia – Hance Elementary School, Category: School.
  • PA – Harrisburg – Commonwealth Charter Academy, Category: School.
  • RI – Barrington – Barrington Middle School, Category: School.
  • RI – Portsmouth – Portsmouth School Department, Category: District.
  • UT – Ogden – Shadow Valley Elementary School, Category: School.
  • VA – Manassas – Prince William County Public Schools, Category: District.
  • WA – Anderson Island – Anderson Island Elementary, Category: School.
  • WI – Madison – University of Wisconsin-Madison, Category: Post-secondary institution.
  • WI – Milwaukee – Clement Avenue School, Category: School.
  • WI – Milwaukee – Starms Early Childhood, Category: Early Learning Center.
  • WI – Stevens Point – Helen R. Godfrey University Child Care and Learning Center, Category: Early Learning Center.

The list of all selected schools, districts, colleges and universities, along with their application files, can be viewed here.

A report presenting the highlights of the 40 winners is available here.

More information on the Federal Recognition Award can be found here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.